The headline Performance Max update heading into December 2025 is transparency: PMax now shows you a per-channel breakdown of spend and conversions, exposes the actual search terms it bought, and accepts campaign-level negative keywords and account-level brand exclusions. For an operating print-on-demand store, that means you can finally audit whether PMax is buying incremental orders or quietly eating the branded and organic clicks you already had — but only if you read the reports against true per-order profit, not reported ROAS.

If you run a store with real sales history, the "PMax is a black box" era is over. The updates that landed through 2025 gave you the controls practitioners spent three years asking for. The question for December 2025 is no longer "can I see inside PMax" — it's "what do the numbers actually say about my margin."

What actually changed in Performance Max

Four changes matter for a retail account, and they are the same four the thin SERP posts gloss over.

First, the channel performance report. PMax now breaks spend and results out across Google Search, Display, YouTube, Discover, Maps, Gmail, and Search partners, with impressions, clicks, conversions, and conversion value per channel. Data is viewable for any date range after June 6, 2025, per Google's Ads Help documentation, and the rollout completed across accounts by November 2025 according to Search Engine Journal.

Second, full search-terms reporting for PMax. You can now see the actual queries that triggered your ads, the same way Standard Shopping has always shown them, as covered by The Media Image.

Third, campaign-level negative keywords shipped in the 2025 update wave, documented in Dataslayer's PMax guide. You can block "free," "used," or a competitor's name instead of hoping the machine avoids them.

Fourth, account-level brand exclusions keep PMax off your own branded searches, including variants and misspellings. These have been available since 2024 per AdNabu, and the 2025 transparency reports are what finally let you confirm they are working.

The update that matters most: PMax no longer always outranks Shopping

For years PMax automatically beat a Standard Shopping campaign for the same product. That behavior is retired. Google confirmed PMax and Standard Shopping now compete on Ad Rank in the same account — the higher Ad Rank wins the auction — as smec explains.

Because Google runs a second-price-style auction, running both does not mean bidding against yourself. The practical result is that the hybrid setup is now the norm, not a hack.

Optmyzr's study of 24,702 PMax campaigns found that 82% of advertisers run PMax alongside Shopping or Search, and that accounts splitting budget between the two posted the strongest returns in the sample, with the highest-allocation split group averaging roughly 652% ROAS (Optmyzr). Treat that figure as a study aggregate, not something your store will reproduce.

One more number reframes the whole "multi-channel" pitch. smec, which manages feeds for 350+ retailers, reports that 74–97% of PMax spend goes to feed-based Shopping-style ads (smec). For a POD store, that means your product feed — titles, images, GTINs, price parity — is the load-bearing input, whatever the creative assets look like.

How to read the new reports as a store owner

The channel report is only useful if you ask it the right question. The useful question is not "what's my ROAS" — it's "which channel did my conversions actually come from."

Say you sell print-on-demand apparel and do 340 orders a month at a $31 average order value, with a PMax campaign spending $2,800 a month. Open the channel report and segment: if a large share of your reported conversions sit under the Search channel, pull the search-terms report next. If those Search conversions are mostly your own brand name, PMax is claiming orders that were coming anyway.

This is the signature of brand cannibalization. PMax chases the cheapest conversions available, and branded clicks are the cheapest of all, so it reports a gorgeous ROAS while adding few incremental orders. smec illustrates the cost mechanism bluntly — you end up paying "$1.50 for a click that you could have bought for $0.20" (smec).

The fix is the controls that now exist: account-level brand exclusions, a dedicated brand Search campaign to defend the term cheaply, and a monthly search-term audit now that PMax exposes the queries. Our guide to Google Ads economics for POD stores walks the full portfolio setup; the honest test is always total business orders against total ad spend, not any single campaign's ROAS.

The number the update doesn't fix: your break-even

No transparency report will tell you whether PMax is profitable, because ROAS ignores product cost, fulfillment, shipping, and processing fees. For POD that gap is the whole game.

Break-even ROAS is pure arithmetic:

Break-even ROAS = 1 ÷ contribution margin.

Say a mug sells for $24, your Printify base plus shipping share is $14, and processing fees run about $1. Your contribution is $9, a 37.5% margin, so break-even ROAS is 1 ÷ 0.375 = 2.67x. A PMax campaign reporting 4.0x looks great until you remember a chunk of those were brand orders you already owned — strip them out and the incremental math can dip under 2.67x fast.

This is why setting your tROAS target from a blog benchmark is a trap. Your target should be derived from break-even math times a profit buffer, then stepped toward the goal — not copied from "what's a good ROAS."

Google documents that tROAS needs at least 15 conversions with values in the past 30 days on Search and Shopping (Google Ads Help), but practitioners widely report that value-based bidding only behaves stably around 50 conversions a month, with roughly 30–50 per PMax campaign to exit learning cleanly (Search Engine Land; Store Growers). If your store sits below that, PMax will stay volatile no matter which December update you enable.

Costs are still climbing into 2026

The updates arrive against a rising-cost backdrop, which is why the profit lens matters more each quarter. WordStream's 2025 data found roughly 87% of industries saw year-over-year CPC increases, averaging about a 12.9% rise from 2024 to 2025, as reported by Search Engine Land.

For context on where retail sits, LocaliQ's June 2026 benchmarks put the retail-category Search CPC at $4.14 with a conversion rate of 4.01% (LocaliQ). Shopping clicks historically run far cheaper — older WordStream figures cited by Store Growers put Shopping CPC near $0.66, though that data is from 2016–2019 and is numerically stale, so treat it as directional only.

The durable story is structural: Shopping clicks cost a fraction of Search clicks but convert at lower rates, and costs have inflated for years. You can compare your own account against category figures in our breakdown of average cost per click by industry, and see what most Shopping ads tools miss when they report ROAS without your supplier costs.

What's next after December 2025

The transparency wave sets up an AI wave. Google's AI Max for Search reached general availability on April 15, 2026, with Google reporting about a 7% lift in conversions or conversion value at similar CPA/ROAS for campaigns using the full suite (Google). Google also announced Dynamic Search Ads and campaign-level broad match will auto-migrate to AI Max starting September 2026 (Google blog).

For a POD operator, the takeaway is simple: more automation is coming, so the operator job shifts from pulling levers to catching the leaks — brand cannibalization, feed disapprovals, and thin-margin SKUs scaling into losses.

Where Victor fits for a POD store

PodVector AI's Victor is an AI employee that connects to your Shopify store, Meta Ads, Google Ads, Printify, Printful, Gelato, and Klaviyo. Because Victor sees every order, every ad dollar, and every supplier cost together, he computes the true per-order profit on each product — the number the channel report leaves out.

Victor is a full Google Ads operator. With your approval on every write action, he can pause or resume campaigns, change budgets and bids, add negative keywords, and edit ads and audiences — and the same approval gate applies in Shopify, Meta Ads, and Klaviyo. Your Printify, Printful, and Gelato product costs are known before the first sale, so the profit math is right from day one. Victor also drafts customer-support email for you to approve and delivers reports to Google Drive.

If you want help auditing a PMax campaign before you scale it, start with Victor. For stores that would rather hand the account to a human team, our view on when a Google Shopping ads agency earns its fee breaks down the tradeoff.

FAQs

What is the main Performance Max update as of December 2025?

Transparency and control. The channel performance report (fully rolled out by November 2025 per Search Engine Journal) breaks results out by channel, search-terms reporting shows the real queries, and campaign-level negative keywords plus account-level brand exclusions let you steer PMax away from traffic you don't want to pay for.

Does Performance Max still beat Standard Shopping automatically?

No. PMax and Standard Shopping now compete on Ad Rank in the same account, so the higher-ranking campaign wins each auction (smec). Most advertisers in Optmyzr's 24,702-campaign study run both, and split-budget accounts performed best (Optmyzr).

Why does my PMax ROAS look great while my sales are flat?

That is the classic brand-cannibalization pattern. PMax buys cheap branded clicks and reports them as conversions, inflating ROAS without adding incremental orders. Check the PMax search-terms report for branded queries, watch whether your brand Search impressions dropped as PMax rose, and judge on total business orders versus total ad spend.

How many conversions do I need before Performance Max is stable?

Google's technical floor for tROAS on Search and Shopping is 15 conversions with values in the past 30 days (Google Ads Help). Practitioners report stable behavior closer to 50 a month, and roughly 30–50 per PMax campaign to exit learning cleanly (Store Growers).

Should I set my tROAS to the ROAS I want?

No — that usually strangles volume. Derive the target from your break-even ROAS (1 ÷ contribution margin) plus a profit buffer, then step toward your goal. A target far above what your account has historically hit tells Google to decline auctions it predicts won't clear the bar (Google Ads Help).

Does Victor touch my live Google Ads account?

Yes, as a full Google Ads operator — but every write action is approval-gated. Victor can change budgets and bids, add negatives, and edit ads once you approve, and he reads your Shopify, supplier, Meta, and Klaviyo data alongside it so the recommendation is based on true per-order profit, not reported ROAS alone.